Southard & Dunaway to Be Honored by SE CT Chapter of National FB Foundation

Southard & Dunaway to Be Honored by SE CT Chapter of National FB Foundation

NEW LONDON, Conn. -- Jason Southard, Coast Guard Academy's Director of Athletic Media Relations, and junior offensive lineman Hudson Dunaway will be honored by The Southeastern Connecticut Chapter of the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame on Sunday, April 29th.

Southard will receive the Bill Cawley Media Award while Dunaway has been named the Academy's 2018 Scholar-Athlete Award recipient which will be presented the annual awards banquet on April 29 at 5 p.m. at Lake of Isles Golf Club and Resort in North Stonington.

Southard is in his 23rd year as Director of Athletic Media Relations at the Coast Guard Academy and is the President of the Eastern College Athletic Conference Sports Information Directors Association (ECAC-SIDA) this academic year. He oversees the day-to-day publicity of the Bears 25 intercollegiate sports and maintains the department's website.

"We are very fortunate to have an outstanding sports information and media relations professional here at CGA in Jason Southard, and on behalf of our Cadet-athletes and coaches, want to congratulate him on being selected to receive the Bill Cawley Media Award," said Tim Fitpatrick, Coast Guard Academy Director of Athletics. "This is a prestigious and fitting honor - and it is a clear reflection on his dedication and service to his profession."

He is a fixture at several Southeastern Connecticut sporting events as he is in his 16th season as a member of the game day media relations staff for the Connecticut Sun of the WNBA, being with the team since they moved the franchise to Mohegan Sun.

Southard is also a statistician for the Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference (CIAC) boys and girls basketball championships, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Tipoff tournament each year at the Mohegan Sun Arena as well as the Cancun Challenge in Mexico.

He is involved with media relations not only in the area, but also at the national level as he has been a part of the media relations staff at several NCAA championship events including numerous NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Regionals and three NCAA Division I Women's Final Fours as well as the 2008 Major League Baseball All-Star Game at Yankee Stadium. Southard has also worked ten NCAA Division I Men's Final Fours as a member of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) convention staff handling public relations for events throughout the week.

Dunaway, a Government major from Virginia Beach, Va., is the starting center for the Coast Guard football team. He was named to the New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Academic team during his sophomore season when he started all ten games at right guard for the Bears.

He was a captain and two-time All-state offensive lineman at Oceans Lakes High as he team won the 2014 Virginia 6A state championship and finished ranked ninth in the nation.

Dunaway also handles the play-by-play duties for the CGASPORTS.COM webcasts of the Bears men's lacrosse games, a position he has held for the past two seasons.

"It is a great honor for Hudson to be recognized as a scholar-athlete from the Coast Guard Academy," said Coast Guard head football coach Bill George. "He has been an outstanding leader both on and off the field for our football program."

The event honors scholar-athletes from the Coast Guard Academy and local high schools, as well as six adult awards, including Person of the Year, which this year will be presented to Sean Patrick Bowley of Hearst Media, who oversees the popular state high school website

Other award winners include Fitch High School's Mike Ellis (Active Coach), Andrew Manzi (Distinguished American), Scott Banks (Officials Award) and Killingly senior Vasileios Politis (President's Award).

The other 2018 Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are Brendan Green (Norwich Free Academy), Max Ebdon (Ledyard), George Tsakiris (Bacon Academy), Sean Flynn (New London), Isaac Tomblin (East Lyme), Nick Tibbetts (Montville), Jacob Gauthier (Killingly), Ethan Lewis (Waterford), Christopher Peasley (Plainfield), Zachary Letellier (Fitch), Jared Rudzinsky (Stonington) and Blair Allen (Valley Regional/Old Lyme).

For event information or to purchase tickets, contact Ledyard athletic director Jim Buonocore at


Bears Fall at Maine Maritime
October 14, 2017 Bears Fall at Maine Maritime